Primary election 2024: Here are the Arizona candidates running for US House of Representatives – The Arizona Republic

Who's running to represent Arizona in the U.S. House of Representatives in 2024?
Competitive races are unfolding in most of the state’s nine congressional districts. 
Six candidates are competing for the Democratic nomination to oppose incumbent Rep. David Schweikert, R-Ariz., a competitive race that could help determine the balance of power on Capitol Hill for the next two years.
To their west, a crowded field of high-profile Republicans is gunning to succeed the retiring Peoria-area Rep. Debbie Lesko, R-Ariz.
The Arizona Republic has been covering the candidates in each district all year long. Here's an update and links to recent articles:
Arizona has nine seats in the U.S. House of Representatives. Each of those seats is contested every two years. Every decade, the boundaries of congressional districts are adjusted based on the U.S. Census. Find out who represents you in Congress with our Find My Reps tool.
Arizona's 1st Congressional District covers parts of north Phoenix, Scottsdale, Paradise Valley, Cave Creek and Fountain Hills in Maricopa County, along with Salt River and Fort McDowell Yavapai National tribal reservations. It’s Arizona’s most affluent congressional district. 
Who's running: Six candidates are seeking the Democratic nomination. On the Republican side, incumbent Rep. David Schweikert is seeking his eighth term. He is facing a primary challenge from GOP candidates Robert Backie and Kim George.
Arizona's 2nd Congressional District is largely rural but includes the communities of Flagstaff, Sedona, Prescott and Prescott Valley. It includes Apache, Coconino, Graham, Greenlee and Navajo counties as well as parts of Gila, Maricopa, Mohave, Pima, Pinal and Yavapai counties.
Who's running: Incumbent Rep. Eli Crane, R-Ariz., is seeking his second term. Jack Smith, a former Yavapai County supervisor, is challenging him for the Republican nomination. Jonathan Nez, a former Navajo Nation president, is running as a Democrat.
Arizona's 3rd Congressional District is in Maricopa County, including parts of Phoenix — including the communities of south Phoenix, Laveen and Maryvale — and Glendale.
Who's running: Former Phoenix City Councilmember Yassamin Ansari, former state Sen. Raquel Terán and Duane Wooten, a doctor, are competing for the Democratic nomination. Republican Jeff Zink and Jesus David Mendoza are running for the GOP nomination. Alan Aversa is running with the Green Party.
Arizona's 4th Congressional District is in Maricopa County, including the Phoenix community of Ahwatukee and parts of Tempe, Mesa and Chandler.
Who's running: Incumbent Rep. Greg Stanton, D-Ariz., is seeking his fourth term. Four candidates are seeking the GOP nomination.
Arizona's 5th Congressional District covers parts of Maricopa and Pinal counties, including parts of Gilbert, Chandler, Queen Creek and Apache Junction.
Who's running: Incumbent Rep. Andy Biggs, R-Ariz., is running for re-election. He is opposed by Democrat Katrina Schaffner.
Arizona's 6th Congressional District covers most of Pima County, including most of Tucson, and Cochise County.
Who's running: Kirsten Engel is seeking the Democratic nomination unopposed. Incumbent Rep. Juan Ciscomani, R-Ariz., is facing a GOP primary challenge from Kathleen Winn.
Arizona's 7th Congressional District includes the southwestern part of Arizona near the state's California state line and its border with Mexico, including parts of Maricopa, Pima, Pinal, Santa Cruz and Yuma counties.
Who's running: Long-serving incumbent Rep. Raúl Grijalva, D-Ariz., is running unopposed for the Democratic nomination. Candidate Daniel Francis Butierez Sr. is running as a Republican. Grijalva announced in April 2024 he was undergoing treatment for cancer.
Arizona's 8th Congressional District covers parts of Maricopa and Yavapai counties, including Glendale, Peoria, Sun City West and New River. Rep. Debbie Lesko, R-Ariz., the incumbent in the district, is retiring.
Who’s running: A crowded field of GOP candidates are looking to replace Lesko. Gregory Whitten is running as a Democrat.
Arizona's 9th Congressional District covers most of the state's western region, including parts of La Paz, Maricopa, Mohave, and Yuma counties and the cities of Kingman and Lake Havasu City.
Who's running: Incumbent Republican Paul Gosar, R-Ariz., was first elected to Congress in 2010. He is opposed by Democrat Quacy Smith.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top
× Need help?